Is there anyone doing prac in NSW?

I am about to go on prac in NSW for the very first time. I am an early ed student and even though this is our third year prac my previous placements have been in day care centres and I received an exemption for 2nd year pracs because I have completed a Diploma. This whole situation is rather daunting to begin with and essentially I need to get from a first year level to third year level by the end of this 3 week placement. From what I read I am not alone as there are other early ed students in the same situation just like mrsmckinty.

Where I start to get overwhelmed is NSW does not implement ACARA and in fact they are in the process of implementing the new NSW Syllabus. I am trying to wrap my head around it but feel disadvantaged because my whole degree has been about ACARA. ACARA is very clear about their ICT capability but I am a little disappointed with the lack of info I found here for NSW. Is there anyone else doing prac in NSW that can help me out with preparing for prac? Also the Syllabus has the content descriptors which would be the outcomes for the lessons but when I am looking for the criteria in Queensland you would use QCAA but in NSW do you refer to the continuum for each KLA?

Hope there is other NSW students out there.

 

Leave a Reply

