Connect.ed; a must for parents and teachers

So I have just finished the four modules on Connect.ed and I see fbehrendorff has been doing the same. I didn’t even know this existed and think it would be a valuable resource for teachers and parents. It was very informative when it came to cyber bullying and cyber safety. Actually as a mother of 2 young teenagers it really did get me thinking about my own parenting. I discovered through the quizzes that I am rather connected which I do try to be but as much as I rather not admit I am one of those parents who does deactivate Facebook when there is an issue. See we take the approach of we give a little and see how our teens handle the freedom and then take back a bit or pull in the line if we don’t think they can handle it. Well now I am being really open aren’t I!!! After doing these modules I feel deactivating Face book may have not been the best approach and now they may never inform us of issues they confront online. From a parent’s perspective it is so scary to think they are not really that mature or have the cognitive skills to handle the world wide web and yet this is what it means to be living in this digital age. Schools really do need to catch up with where life really is at and I will be recommending this course. I wonder though how do we change the attitude of this is an issue for High School and not primary?

 

Here is a copy of the certificate you get upon completion of this course which is a great addition to my cv.

connect.ed certificate

 

Google Docs

Reading through some of the latest posts I noticed Seasidegroup2014 has found an interesting article about Google Drive which was formerly known as Google doc. I am actually interested in using Google docs in the classroom and I am interested in the many ways it could be used. I am thinking more as a collaborative tool at the moment. I have year 1/2 for prac and I have been able to find another year 1/2 class in a different town that would like to collaborate using Google docs for writing.

I am so excited about this idea but wondering where to go from here. When I consider the time and structure of the day it looks like this activity would be one of the small rotating group activities in the morning when the teacher has her normal reading/writing block. This makes me then worry about sufficient time. I wonder if there would be another time that would be more suitable? I also wonder where the students are up to with their level of development. Would it be best for students to all contribute to one narrative, or with a partner in the other school or should they write their own and have a peer from the other school give feedback? So many questions!!! I guess I have to really wait and see what outcomes we want these students to achieve. So essentially I have just gone around in circles. Wish I could start planning some lessons in these holidays but it is really not possible.