Technology is always a trade-off

I was reflecting on lynettegaye7 post. She discusses Postman’s 5 and I could resonate with her example about technology being a trade-off. I have always been concerned that a trade-off to technology is spelling ability and being able to develop handwriting skills. I know I have become lazy because of the autocorrect functions or spell check and it is more about typing fast and checking that later. Mind you if I am chatting or texting someone I hardly check over to make sure my spelling is correct. How good would my spelling be if I started doing such a thing at a much younger age? Children are now using ICTs at a much younger age and therefore are probably developing my habits quite early. Then I wonder, is it possible that handwriting will not be required within the years to come?

What do you think of this trade-off?

 

Leave a Reply

